Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

History of the Institute


The history of the "Institute for Chemical technology and Polymer Chemistry" starts in the year 1872, when the "Chemische -Technische Institut was founded. In 1921, it was renamed to "Institute for Chemical Technology". Later, an additional chair for macromolecular chemistry at the institute was created in 1965. In 1967, a new institute (Polymer-Institut) was founded.

In 2002, the institute changed the location. The old building located at the Ehrenhof (B. 11.30, see pic at the right) needs to be restorated. The institute is now located in a new building (B. 11.21, see pic at the left) and another building (B. 11.23) at the main campus of the university.

 

 

In January 2004, the Institute of chemical technology and polymer chemistry was founded by the fusion of the technical chemistry and the polymer chemistry. The new institute comes with four professorships, two of them located in each division.

Details of the history of the institute can be found in the "History board" below. Here the history of the institute (upper half) is connected to the history of whole the chemistry (lower half) in Karlsruhe. Here you can view a PDF of this board, the original board is placed in the first florr in building 11.21.

  

 

 

 

Geschichtstafel des Institutes ITCP und der Chemie in Karlsruhe

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Geschichte des Instituts

Die Geschichte des Institutes für "Technische Chemie und Polymerchemie" (ITCP) reicht zurück bis ins Jahr 1872, in dem das Chemisch-Technische Institut gegründet wurde, das 1921 zum "Institut für Chemische Technik" umbenannt wurde. 1965 wurde ein Lehrstuhl für Makromolekulare Chemie am Institut eingerichtet, aus dem 1967 das Polymer-Institut hervorging.

Ende 2002 erfolgte der Umzug des Instituts für Chemische Technik und des Polymer Instituts in neue Räumlichkeiten, da der Altbau am Ehrenhof (Geb. 11.30, siehe Bild rechts) endgültig sanierungsbedürftig war. Das Institut verfügt nun über Räume im Neubau (Geb. 11.21, siehe Bild links) und im sanierten Gebäude 11.23 sowie in der Westhochschule

Anfang 2004 wurde das Institut für Technische Chemie und Polymerchemie durch Zusammenführung der technischen Chemie und der Polymerchemie gegründet. Das neue Institut verfügt über insgesamt vier Professuren, je zwei im Bereich Chemische Technik und Polymerchemie.

Die Details der Geschichte des Institutes können sie auf der unten stehenden Geschichtstafel nachvollziehen, die zum einen die geschichte des Institutes (obere Hälfte) darstellt, sie aber auch mit der Entwicklung der Chemie in Karlsruhe zusammenführt (untere Hälfte). Diese Tafel können sie sich hier als PDF-File anschauen, in Echtgröße hängt die Tafel im 1. OG des Gebäudes 11.21.

 

Geschichtstafel des Institutes ITCP und der Chemie in Karlsruhe