Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Project Areas

The aim of the SPP 2080 is to identify and model on an atomic scale the structural responses of nanostructured catalysts to changing reaction conditions at the atomic level. The resulting knowledge will be used for a targeted catalyst and reactor design.

Accordingly, the national competences are to be collected in the five thematic areas shown schematically in Fig. 2 and further developed jointly and in an interdisciplinary manner in the context of dynamic reaction management. A comprehensive understanding of selected catalytic systems of energy conversion and storage requires a close interlinking of these complementary fields of research that has not yet been achieved and thus makes it possible to generate fundamental and methodological knowledge for a large number of other catalytic systems.

 

Figure 2: Topics of the SPP 2080 and their interaction. A dynamic change of the reaction parameters concentration (c), pressure (p), temperature (T) and possibly electrical potential (E) leads to a time-dependent alteration of the surface and volume state of the catalyst along the reactor as well as the composition of the product stream in the form of concentrations (c), conversion (X), yield (Y) and selectivity (S).

In the SPP 2080, the investigation of electro- and solid catalysts under dynamic, externally imposed conditions shall be focused on conversions relevant for energy storage (see Fig. 1). The vision is to understand the processes on the atomic scale as well as on the (electro)catalyst and in the reactor under dynamic conditions. For this purpose, the fields of spectroscopy, molecular and kinetic modelling, catalytic material systems and reactor concepts are directly related to each other. By closely interlinking the project areas in terms of topics and methods, this provides the optimal prerequisite for gaining knowledge against the background of catalyst changes under dynamic conditions as the overriding objective. For example, the results of the spectroscopic investigations will be used to develop catalyst design criteria at atomic, mesoscopic and particle levels. They are also a prerequisite for a realistic modelling of the kinetics and an understanding of the electronic and structural catalyst properties with regard to the changes occurring at the active centres under load changes. The requirements for the design of reactors for dynamic operation are derived from the results of kinetics and material properties. On the other hand, they set targets for the further development of the kinetic models, the catalysts and the characterization methods necessary for their investigation. Thus it becomes clear that the goals of the SPP can only be achieved by a consistent alignment of the subprojects to the central question.

For the knowledge gained within the framework of the SPP 2080, a close thematic and methodological integration of the subareas spectroscopy, molecular and kinetic modelling, catalytic material systems and reactor concepts is an essential prerequisite. Hence, the interdisciplinary and cross-location cooperation is an essential characteristic of this SPP. The research projects will therefore include cooperations between groups from two to three different sub-areas and thus support networking and knowledge transfer between the disciplines.

Home  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Projektbereiche

Ziel des SPPs 2080 ist es, auf atomarer Ebene die strukturellen Antworten von nanostrukturierten Katalysatoren auf wechselnde Reaktionsbedingungen zu identifizieren, grundlegend zu verstehen und zu modellieren. Der daraus erwachsende Erkenntnisgewinn wird für ein gezieltes Katalysator- und Reaktordesign genutzt.

Entsprechend sollen die nationalen Kompetenzen in den in Abb. 2 schematisch gezeigten fünf Themenbereichen gesammelt und im Kontext einer dynamischen Reaktionsführung gemeinsam und interdisziplinär weiterentwickelt werden. Ein umfassendes Verständnis ausgewählter katalytischer Systeme der Energiewandlung und -speicherung bedingt eine enge, heute so noch nicht gegebene Verzahnung dieser komplementären Forschungsbereiche und ermöglicht so, fundamentales und methodisches Wissen für eine Vielzahl weiterer katalytischer Systeme zu generieren.

SPP_2080_Themenbereiche

 

Abbildung 2: Themenbereiche des SPPs 2080 und deren Interaktion. Eine dynamische Änderung der Reaktionsparameter Konzentration (c), Druck (p), Temperatur (T) und ggf. elektrisches Potenzial (E) führt zur zeitabhängigen Änderung sowohl von Oberflächen- und Volumenzustand des Katalysators entlang des Reaktors als auch der Zusammensetzung des Produktstroms in Gestalt von Konzentrationen (c), Umsatzgrad (X), Ausbeuten (Y) und Selektivitäten (S).

Die Untersuchung von Elektro- und Feststoffkatalysatoren unter dynamischen, von außen aufgezwungenen Bedingungen soll in diesem SPP auf Umsetzungen fokussiert werden, die für die Energiespeicherung relevant sind (siehe Abb. 1). Die Vision ist dabei, die Prozesse auf atomarer Skala ebenso wie am (Elektro-)Katalysator und im Reaktor unter dynamischen Bedingungen zu verstehen. Dazu werden die Teilbereiche Spektroskopie, molekulare und kinetische Modellierung, katalytische Materialsysteme und Reaktorkonzepte unmittelbar aufeinander bezogen. Durch eine enge inhaltliche und methodische Verzahnung der Projektbereiche liefert dies die optimale Voraussetzung für den Erkenntnisgewinn vor dem Hintergrund der Katalysatoränderungen unter dynamischen Bedingungen als übergeordnete Zielstellung. So dienen etwa die Ergebnisse der spektroskopischen Untersuchungen dazu, Kriterien für das Katalysatordesign auf atomarem, mesoskopischem und Partikelniveau zu entwickeln. Sie sind zudem Voraussetzung für eine realitätsnahe Modellierung der Kinetik und das Verständnis der elektronischen und strukturellen Kataly­satoreigenschaften hinsichtlich der unter Lastwechseln auftretenden Änderungen an den aktiven Zentren. Die Anforderungen für das Design von Reaktoren für den dynamischen Betrieb werden einerseits aus den Ergebnissen aus Kinetik und Materialeigenschaften abgeleitet. Andererseits geben sie Zielgrößen für die Weiterentwicklung der kinetischen Modelle, der Katalysatoren und der für ihre Untersuchung notwendigen Charakterisierungsmethoden vor. Damit wird deutlich, dass die Ziele des SPPs nur durch eine konsequente Ausrichtung der Teilprojekte an der zentralen Fragestellung erreicht werden können.

Für den im Rahmen des SPPs 2080 angestrebten Erkenntnisgewinn ist eine enge inhaltliche und methodische Verzahnung der Teilbereiche Spektroskopie, molekulare und kinetische Modellierung, katalytische Materialsysteme und Reaktorkonzepte eine wesentliche Grundvoraussetzung. Die interdisziplinäre und ortsübergreifende Zusammenarbeit ist somit ein wesentliches Kennzeichen dieses SPPs. Die Forschungsprojekte werden daher Kooperationen zwischen Gruppen aus zwei bis drei verschiedenen Teilbereichen beinhalten und somit Netzwerkbildung und Wis­sens­transfer zwischen den Disziplinen unterstützen.