Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Polymer Chemistry at the KIT

At the university of Karlsruhe, the specific field of macromoleculare chemistry exists since 1965. The research interests focus on the synthesis as well as on the characterization of polymers. Another focus of interest are the application properties of polymers in industrial applications. 

The research in the professorship "polymeric materials" is focused on characterization and on application properties of polymeric materials. The professorship "preparative macromoleculare chemistry (new field group)" concentrates on synthesis of polymers. The expertise of both groups is used to develop new polymeric materials.

RESEARCH GROUPS

Prof. Wilhelm
Polymeric Materials
Prof. Barner-Kowollik
Preparative macromolecular chemistry

(New Field Group)
The resarch interests focus on method development in rheology, specifically "FT-Rheology" and the rheological characterization of polymeric materials. One special topic in this field is the influence of different topologies on the rheological characteristics of polymers. Therefore, Anionic synthesis of defined topologies is a fundament of our scientific work.
Other areas of interest are low-field nmr and novel detection systems for size exclusion chromatographie.
The group's research areas range from living free (radical) polymerization methods ((ATRP, NMP, ESCP, RAFT, NMP, TKMP, ROP, ROMP) and the design of complex macromolecular architectures to mass spectrometric studies on polymer systems. An important focus is on the development of novel controlling protocols as well as modular orthogonal conjugation chemistries applied to macromolecular construction. The synthetic efforts are ultimately directed at the generation of nano- and micro-structured functional soft matter materials. Further research areas include reaction mechanisms and kinetics.

Polymere Materialien (Institut für Technische Chemie und Polymerchemie)

Kurzvorstellung

Seit 1965 gibt es an der Universität Karlsruhe das Fachgebiet Makromolekulare Chemie. Hierbei stehen sowohl die Polymersynthese als auch die Charakterisierung und die Anwendungseigenschaften von Polymeren im Blickpunkt der Forschungsaktivitäten.

Im Lehrstuhl Polymere Materialien stehen Charakterisierung und Anwendungseigenschaften von polymeren Materialien im Vordergrund, im Lehrstuhl Präparative Makromolekulare Chemie (New Field Group) Syntheseverfahren. Mit der Kompetenz beider Arbeitsgruppen wird an der Optimierung polymerer Materialien gearbeitet.

FORSCHUNGSGRUPPEN

Prof. Wilhelm
Lehrstuhl Polymere Materialien
Prof. Barner-Kowollik
Lehrstuhl Präparative Makromolekulare Chemie

(New Field Group)
Die Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in der Methodenentwicklung in der Rheologie (FT-Rheologie) und in der rheologischen Charakterisierung von Polymeren. Von besonderem Interesse ist hierbei der Einfluß der Topologie auf die rheologischen Eigenschaften der Polymeren. Ein weiterer Interessensbereich stellt die Festkörper-NMR dar.
Die Anwendung der Rheologie und der NMR ist dabei vor allem auf Materialien und Fragestellungen von industriellem Interesse ausgerichtet.
Die Forschungsschwerpunkte des Lehrstuhls liegen in der Entwicklung und Anwendung kontrollierter (radikalischer) Polymerisationsmethoden (ATRP, NMP, ESCP, RAFT, NMP, TKMP), der Entwicklung von extrem milder Konjugationschemie, dem Aufbau komplexer Polymerarchitekturen mittels modularer orthogonaler Chemie sowie der Oberflächenkonjugation, dem Studium von Kinetik und Mechanismus von Polymerisationen, sowie der Massenspektrometrie gekoppelt mit chromatographischen Methoden an Polymersystemen.