Deutschmann Group

Project AdBlue Deposits

Fundamental experimental and numerical investigation on the deposit formation and decomposition from AdBlue in SCR systems

Abstract

Based on legislation for diesel engines a further minimization of emissions of nitrogen oxides (NOx) is essential. The selective catalytic reduction (SCR) is therefore an efficient and widely used method to reduce nitric oxide emissions, frequently in combination with other emission control devices. In SCR systems, urea is injected into the tailpipe as a urea-water solution (UWS). Water evaporation and decomposition of the urea content produce gaseous ammonia upstream of the SCR catalyst. The droplets of the UWS frequently impinge on the hot surfaces of the exhaust line where they may form liquid film at part load operating points. Accumulated liquid film on the other hand can induce formation of solids due to urea crystallization and by-product formation, which impedes the SCR efficiency.
This work investigated the interaction of AdBlue sprays with hot tail pipe walls, the resulting wall film formation and the precipitation of solid deposits from liquid film. For investigations in application scale, a lab test bench at KIT and an engine test bench at TUW were installed, which enabled experiments on film and deposit formation under realistic conditions. Solid deposits that were generated during the experiments were sampled for detailed analysis of topology and chemical composition by thermogravimetrical analysis (TGA) and high performance liquid chromatography (HPLC).
Based on kinetic data from the experiments an existing kinetic model for urea decomposition was extended. Together with enhanced models of spray/wall interaction, heat transfer and an approach to substantially speed-up the simulations, for the first time physical as well as chemical processes in the mixing section of SCR systems were depicted in 3D-CFD simulations. Furthermore a new kinetic model was introduced that is mainly based on thermodynamic data and equilibrium processes and which allows a detailed prediction on urea decomposition and deposit formation with all upcoming experimental effects.
The objective of the research project was achieved.

Download project report

Supported by:

 

 
  AiF IGF

Home | english  | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Projekt "AdBlue Deposits"

Grundlegende experimentelle und numerische Untersuchungen zur Ablagerungsbildung und -zersetzung aus AdBlue in SCR-Systemen

Kurzfassung

Basierend auf immer strengeren Emissionsrichtlinien ist eine zukünftige weitere Minimierung der Stickoxid (NOx) Emissionen für Dieselmotoren notwendig. Die selektive katalytische Re-duktion (SCR) ist dabei in Verbindung mit anderen Abgasnachbehandlungskomponenten eine effiziente und weit verbreitete Methode zur Reduzierung der Stickoxide. Bei SCR Anlagen wird Harnstoff in Form einer Harnstoff-Wasser-Lösung (UWS) in den Abgasstrang injiziert. Die Verdampfung des Sprays und thermische Zersetzung des Harnstoffs führen zur Ammoniakentwicklung vor dem SCR-Katalysator. Die Tropfen der Harnstoff-Wasser-Lösung prallen häufig auf die heiße Abgaswand, wo sie in niedrigen Lastpunkten Wandfilm bilden. Angesammelter Wandfilm wiederum kann zu starker Ablagerungsbildung durch Harnstoff-kristallisation und Bildung von Nebenprodukten führen, die die Funktion des SCR Systems beeinträchtigen.
Diese Arbeit erforschte die Interaktion von AdBlue-Sprays mit heißen Abgaswänden, die resultierende Wandfilmbildung sowie das Entstehen fester Ablagerungen aus dem flüssigen Film. Für Untersuchungen im Anwendungsmaßstab wurden ein Laborgasprüfstand am KIT und ein Motorprüfstand an der TUW aufgebaut, die Experimente zur Film- und Ablagerungs-bildung unter realitätsnahen Bedingungen ermöglichten. Die experimentell erzeugten, festen Ablagerungen wurden zur detaillierten Analyse der Topologie und der chemischen Zusam-mensetzung entnommen und durch thermogravimetrische Analyse (TGA) und Hochleis-tungsflüssigkeitschromatographie (HPLC) untersucht.
Basierend auf kinetischen Daten aus den Experimenten wurde ein bestehendes kinetisches Modell der Harnstoffzersetzung erweitert. Zusammen mit weiterentwickelten Modellen für die Spray/Wand-Interaktion, den Wärmeübergang und einem Ansatz zur deutlichen Beschleuni-gung der Simulationen, wurden erstmals sowohl physikalische als auch chemische Prozesse in der Mischstrecke von SCR Systemen in 3D-CFD-Simulationen abgebildet. Weiterhin wurde ein neues, kinetisches Modell vorgestellt, welches hauptsächlich auf thermodynamischen Daten und Gleichgewichtsprozessen basiert und eine detaillierte Vorhersage der Zersetzung von Harnstoff und Nebenprodukten und den experimentell auftretenden Effekten ermöglicht.
Das Ziel des Forschungsvorhabens ist erreicht worden.

Projektbericht zum Download

 

Gefördert durch: