Exhaust Gas Center Karlsruhe

Current News

News and interesting facts about the Exhaust Gas Center Karlsruhe

2021

MODEGAT VII 2022KIT/ ITCP
Save the new date: MODEGAT VII postponed until 2022

The next international symposium on Modeling of Exhaust-Gas After-Treatment (MODEGAT) will be held in 2022. The organizers believe that the interactive and collaborative spirit of MODEGAT is best created through face-to-face contact and have therefore decided against a virtual format. MODEGAT VII will take place September 11-13, 2022, in Bad Herrenalb/Karlsruhe, Germany. For updates regarding a call for abstracts, registration, and more visit the conference website www.modegat.org! January 2021.

Archive

News and interesting facts from previous years

2020

 

Excellence Award of the VAA Foundation for Patrick Lott

Deutschmann group Senior Scientist Dr. Patrick Lott received the Excellence Award of the VAA Foundation during a small, festive ceremony in Cologne. The prize, which is endowed with € 5,000, is awarded once a year in recognition of outstanding dissertations with industrial application relevance. December 2020.

 

How catalysts can work more efficiently

The DFG funds a new Collaborative Research Centre (CRC 1441) “Tracking the Active Site in Heterogeneous Catalysis for Emission Control” (TrackAct) for the understanding of catalytic processes. The vision of TrackAct is to design noble metal catalysts with atomic precision and to monitor and control the active site in the reactor and the technical application. December 2020.

 

Scholarship for Daria Gashnikova

Daria Gashnikova has received a Kékulé scholarship for her doctoral thesis. Congratulations! She will focus on a current topic in the field of emission control of stoichiometrically driven natural gas engines, with NOx reduction being the main focus of her scientific work. Prerequisite for the award of the scholarship from the German Chemical Industry Association is excellent academic performance achieved within the standard period of study. September 2020.

 

Start of a new semester

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the associated limited academic education operations, the new semester will start via the ILIAS learning management system. The following lectures will be offered digitally:

Applied Chemistry and Chemische Technik III, coordinated by Olaf Deutschmann

“Catalysis for sustainable chemicals and energies" and "Characterization in Materials Science and Catalysis",  coordinated by Jan-Dierk Grunwaldt

“Grundlagen der katalytischen Abgasnachbehandlung bei Verbrennungsmotoren“ , coordinated by Egbert Lox (Umicore), Jan-Dierk Grunwaldt and Olaf Deutschmann

The complete list of the lectures for the new semester is available here. Please register on the ILIAS platform during the next days if you want to participate or if you want to contribute. April 2020.

 

Project "AdBlue Deposits"

The FVV project „AdBlue Deposits“ (01/2017 - 04/2019) funded by the BMWi through the AiF investigated the interaction between injected AdBlue solution and the exhaust tract. A particular focus was on the resulting film formation and the compounds precipitating from the liquid film. In addition to experimental considerations, new models for urea decomposition, spray/wall interactions and heat transfer processes were investigated.
January 2020

 

Archive:

2019:

New catalyst test bench in construction

With the financial support from KIT we have recently started to build up a new catalyst test bench for measurements under rapid transient reaction conditions, i.e. gas mixture and temperature variations. The test bench will be used mainly for the different research projects on noble metal based catalysts within the TRACKACT Collaborative Research Center. November 2019.

 

2018:

MODEGAT VI and ICOSCAR6 in 2019

The date for the next "International Symposium on Modeling of Exhaust-Gas After-Treatment" is set. MODEGAT VI will take place in Bad Herrenalb from 8-10 September 2019. Immediately following it, ICOSCAR6 (International Conference on Structured Catalysts and Reactors) will take place at the same venue until 13.9.2019.  January 2018.

 

2017:

Master thesis honored

Deniz Zengel received the Procter & Gamble Award for the best Master's thesis 2016/2017 in chemistry at KIT. In addition, he received a scholarship from the German Federal Foundation for the Environment (DBU) for his thesis "Investigation of the Potential of NOx Removal near Engines under Lean Conditions: An understanding-based evaluation of current catalyst systems under realistic conditions". November 2017.

 
VCI Scholarship for employees

Following in the footsteps of Abgaszentrum employee Patrick Lott, Florian Maurer from the German Chemical Industry Association has now also been awarded the Chemiefonds-Stipendium Scholarship for doctoral students. One of the prerequisites for the scholarship is a speedy course of study with excellent academic performance. September 2017.

 

New catalyst concept developed

The study Tuning the Structure of Platinum Particles on Ceria In Situ for Enhancing the Catalytic Performance of Exhaust Gas Catalysts by A. M. Gänzler, M. Casapu et al., published in Angewandte Chemie, presents a new catalyst concept. In the study, the size and state of the precious metal nanoparticles on the catalyst surface can be adjusted to react to external influences such as the exhaust gas composition in order to achieve an optimal result. In the future, exhaust gases could be efficiently treated and precious metals could be saved even during cold starts of engines and in city traffic. Press release KIT 151/2017. September 2017.

 

Awarded article in Catalys Science and Technology

The article Transient structural and catalytic behaviour of Pt-particles probed by operando spectroscopy during a realistic driving cycle by F. Benzi, T. Sheppard et al., which was mainly prepared at the Karlsruhe Exhaust Gas Center, was selected as a cover topic in the Catalysis Science and Technology issue 2017,7. In addition, he has been awarded by inclusion in the 2017 Catalysis Science and Technology Hot Articles collection. July 2017.

 

MODEGAT V

 MODEGAT V (5th International Symposium on Modeling of Exhaust-Gas After-Treatment)took place from 3-5 September 2017 in Bad Herrenalb.

 

2015:

MODEGAT IV

The Karlsruhe Exhaust Gas Centre is also involved in MODEGAT IV (4th International Symposium on Modeling of Exhaust-Gas After-Treatment), both in terms of organisation and scientific contributions.

 

2014:

Dipl.-Chem. Paul Sprenger and Dipl.-Chem. Andreas Gremminger, both PhD students in the working groups of Prof. Grunwaldt and Prof. Deutschmann at the Institute of Technical Chemistry and Polymer Chemistry, were awarded the Hans-Dinger-Prize of the Research Association for Internal Combustion Engines for their diploma theses. Press release.

2013:

MODEGAT III

The Karlsruhe Exhaust Gas Centre is involved in the organisation and scientific contributions to MODEGAT III (3rd International Symposium on Modelling of Exhaust-Gas After-Treatment).

Abgaszentrum Karlsruhe

Aktuelle News

Neuigkeiten und Wissenswertes rund um das Abgaszentrum Karlsruhe

2021

MODEGAT VII 2022KIT/ ITCP
Save the new date: MODEGAT VII verschoben auf 2022

Das nächste internationale Symposium zum Thema "Modeling of Exhaust-Gas After-Treatment" (MODEGAT) wird 2022 stattfinden. Die Organisatoren sind der Meinung, dass der interaktive und kollaborative Geist von MODEGAT am besten durch persönlichen Kontakt entsteht und haben sich daher gegen ein virtuelles Format entschieden. MODEGAT VII wird vom 11. bis 13. September 2022 in Bad Herrenalb/Karlsruhe stattfinden. Aktuelle Informationen zum Call for Abstracts, zur Anmeldung und mehr auf der Konferenz-Webseite www.modegat.org. Januay 2021.

Archiv

News und Wissenswertes aus den Vorjahren

2020:

 

Exzellenzpreis der VAA Stiftung für Patrick Lott

Dr. Patrick Lott, Senior Scientist im Arbeitskreis von Professor Deutschmann, wurde im Rahmen einer kleinen, festlichen Zeremonie in Köln der Exzellenzpreis der VAA Stiftung verliehen. Der mit 5.000 € dotierte Preis würdigt einmal jährlich herausragende Dissertationen mit industriellem Anwendungsbezug. Dezember 2020.

 

Wie Katalysatoren effizienter arbeiten können

DFG fördert neuen Sonderforschungsbereich (SFB 1441) "Tracking the Active Site in Heterogeneous Catalysis for Emission Control" (TrackAct) zum Verständnis katalytischer Prozesse am KIT. Die Vision von TrackAct ist es, Edelmetallkatalysatoren mit atomarer Präzision zu designen und die aktive Stelle im Reaktor und in der technischen Anwendung zu überwachen und zu kontrollieren. Dezember 2020.

 

Stipendium für Daria Gashnikova

Daria Gashnikova hat ein Kékulé-Stipendium für ihre Doktorarbeit erhalten. Herzlichen Glückwunsch! Sie wird sich auf eine sehr aktuelle Thematik im Bereich der Emissionskontrolle von stöchiometrisch betriebenen Erdgasmotoren konzentrieren, wobei die NOx-Reduktion im Mittelpunkt ihrer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit steht. Voraussetzung für die Vergabe des Stipendiums vom Verband der Chemischen Industrie sind hervorragende Studienleistungen, die innerhalb der Regelstudienzeit zu erbringen sind. September 2020.

 

Anfang eines neuen Semesters

Aufgrund der Pandemie COVID-19 und dem damit verbundenen eingeschränkten akademischen Ausbildungsbetrieb wird das neue Semester über das Lernmanagementsystem ILIAS gestartet. Die folgenden Vorlesungen werden digital angeboten:
- Angewandte Chemie und Chemische Technik III, koordiniert von Olaf Deutschmann
- "Katalyse für nachhaltige Chemikalien und Energien" und "Charakterisierung in Materialwissenschaft und Katalyse", koordiniert von Jan-Dierk Grunwaldt
- "Grundlagen der katalytischen Abgasnachbehandlung bei Verbrennungsmotoren" , koordiniert von Egbert Lox (Umicore), Jan-Dierk Grunwaldt und Olaf Deutschman
Die vollständige Liste der Vorlesungen für das neue Semester finden Sie hier. Bitte melden Sie sich in den nächsten Tagen auf der ILIAS-Plattform an, wenn Sie teilnehmen oder einen Beitrag leisten möchten. April 2020.

 

Project "AdBlue Deposits"

Das vom BMWi durch die AiF geförderte FVV Projekt „AdBlue Deposits“ (01/2017 – 04/2019) untersuchte die Wechselwirkung zwischen eingespritzer AdBlue Lösung und dem Abgasstrang. Ein besonderer Fokus lag hierbei auf der resultierenden Filmbildung und den aus dem Flüssigkeitsfilm ausfallenden Verbindungen. Neben experimentellen Betrachtungen wurden auch neue Modelle zur Harnstoff-Zersetzung, Spray/Wand Interaktionen und Wärmeübertragungsvorgänge untersucht. Januar 2020.

 

2019:

Neuer Katalysator-Prüfstand Baustadium

Mit der finanziellen Unterstützung des KIT haben wir vor kurzem begonnen, einen neuen Katalysatorprüfstand für Messungen unter schnellen transienten Reaktionsbedingungen, d.h. Gasgemisch- und Temperaturschwankungen, aufzubauen. Der Prüfstand wird hauptsächlich für die verschiedenen Forschungsprojekte zu edelmetallbasierten Katalysatoren im Rahmen des Sonderforschungsbereichs TRACKACT genutzt werden. November 2019.

 

2018:

MODEGAT VI und ICOSCAR6 in 2019

Der Termin für das nächste „International Symposium on Modeling of Exhaust-Gas After-Treatment“ steht fest. Die MODEGAT VI wird vom 8.-10. September 2019 in Bad Herrenalb stattfinden. Direkt im Anschluss folgt am selben Ort die ICOSCAR6 (International Conference on Structured Catalysts and Reactors) bis zum 13.9.2019. Januar 2018.

 

2017:

Masterarbeit honoriert

Deniz Zengel wurde mit dem Procter & Gamble Award für die beste Masterarbeit 2016/2017 in Chemie am KIT ausgezeichnet. Zudem erhielt er ein Stipendium der Deutschen Bundesstiftung Umwelt (DBU) für seine Arbeit „Untersuchung des Potenzials der NOx-Entfernung in Motornähe unter mageren Bedingungen: Eine verständnisbasierte Evaluierung aktueller Katalysatorsysteme unter realitätsnahen Bedingungen“. November 2017.

 

VCI Stipendium für Mitarbeiter

Nach Abgaszentrum-Mitarbeiter Patrick Lott wurde jetzt auch Florian Maurer vom Verband der Chemischen Industrie mit dem Chemiefonds-Stipendium für Doktoranden ausgezeichnet. Voraussetzung für die Vergabe des Stipendiums ist unter anderem ein zügiges Studium mit hervorragenden Studienleistungen. September 2017.

 

Neues Katalysatorkonzept entwickelt

Die Studie Tuning the Structure of Platinum Particles on Ceria In Situ for Enhancing the Catalytic Performance of Exhaust Gas Catalysts von A. M. Gänzler, M. Casapu et al., veröffentlich in Angewandte Chemie, stellt ein neues Katalysatorkonzept vor. In der Studie sind Größe und Zustand der Edelmetall-Nanopartikel auf der Katalysatoroberfläche einstellbar und können damit auf externe Einflüsse wie die Abgaszusammensetzung reagieren um ein optimales Ergebnis zu liefern. So könnten zukünftig auch beim Kaltstart von Motoren und im Stadtverkehr Abgase effizient nachzubehandelt und Edelmetalle eingespart werden. Presseinformation KIT 151/2017. September 2017.

 

Ausgezeichneter Artikel in Catalys Science and Technology

Der hauptsächlich im Abgaszentrum Karlsruhe erarbeitete Artikel Transient structural and catalytic behaviour of Pt-particles probed by operando spectroscopy during a realistic driving cycle von F. Benzi, T. Sheppard et al. wurde als Coverthema in der Catalysis Science and Technology Ausgabe 2017,7 ausgewählt. Zusätzlich wurde er durch Aufnahme in die Themensammlung 2017 Catalysis Science and Technology Hot Articles ausgezeichnet. Juli 2017.

MODEGAT V

MODEGAT V (5th International Symposium on Modeling of Exhaust-Gas After-Treatment) fand vom 3.-5. September 2017 in Bad Herrenalb statt. Internetauftritt MODEGAT V

 

2015:

MODEGAT IV

Auch an der MODEGAT IV (4th International Symposium on Modeling of Exhaust-Gas After-Treatment) ist das Abgaszentrum Karlsruhe organisatorisch und mit wissenschaftlichen Beiträgen beteiligt. Internetauftritt MODEGAT IV

 

2014:

Hans-Dinger-Preis

Dipl.-Chem. Paul Sprenger und Dipl.-Chem. Andreas Gremminger, beide Doktoranden in den Arbeitskreisen von Prof. Grunwaldt und Prof. Deutschmann am Institut für Technische Chemie und Polymerchemie, wurde für ihre Diplomarbeiten mit dem Hans-Dinger-Preis der Forschungsvereinigung Verbrennungskraftmaschinen ausgezeichnet. Pressemitteilung

 

2013:

MODEGAT III

Das Abgaszentrum Karlsruhe beteiligt sich bei der Organisation und mit wissenschaftlichen Beiträgen an der MODEGAT III (3rd International Symposium on Modeling of Exhaust-Gas After-Treatment). Internetauftritt MODEGAT III

 

2012:

CTI Vorträge

Mitarbeiter des Abgaszentrums Karlsruhe halten Vorträge bei der 8. CTI Konferenz in München. Konferenzprogramm