Jan-Dierk Grunwaldt

  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)

    Institut für Technische Chemie und Polymerchemie

    Engesserstr. 20

    Campus Süd

    Geb. 11.21

    76131 Karlsruhe


Prof. Dr. Jan-Dierk Grunwaldt


Curriculum Vitae


Since 02/2010 Full professor and director at the Institute for Chemical Technology and Polymer Chemistry, Faculty for Chemistry and Applied Biosciences, Karlsruher Institute of Technology (KIT-Campus South), Germany
2008 - 2010 Full professor at the Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineeering, DTU, Kgs. Lyngby, “The Haldor Topsøe Chair in Catalysis and Chemical Engineering”, Denmark
2001 – 2007 “Oberassistent” (lecturer and senior scientist) and from 04/2006 “Privatdozent” at the Institute of Chemical and Bioengineering, Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
1998 – 2001 Project Manager at Haldor Topsøe A/S, Lyngby, Denmark
1993 – 1998 PhD Thesis at the Department of Technical Chemistry at the ETH Zürich, Switzerland, (group of Prof. A. Baiker): “Low-temperature CO-oxidation on gold/oxide interfaces”; research and teaching assistant
1993 Diploma work (Hamburg University, W. Gunßer and A. Reller) in cooperation with K. Petermann (Hamburg University) and J.G. Bednorz (IBM Research Laboratory, Rüschlikon, CH)
1989 – 1993 Studies of Chemistry: University of Hamburg (Germany), Newcastle upon Tyne (Great Britain)

Key Working Areas

Since 2001 Heterogeneous catalysis and operando spectroscopy, chemical energy strorage, sustainable chemistry, power-to-X processes, selective oxidation reactions, emission control, in situ characterization of heterogeneous catalysts using especially synchrotron radiation sources (PETRAIII, ESRF, KIT light source, BESSY, SOLEIL, SLS, etc.), catalyst preparation by flame spray pyrolysis, high throughput methodology, operando spectroscopy, work at synchrotron radiation sources with XANES, EXAFS, HERFD-XAS, XES, RIXS

Scholarships and Awards

2007 Karl-Winnacker-Stipendiat awarded by the Aventis Foundation in recognition of the scientific achievements in supercritical fluids, in situ characterization and exhaust gas catalysis, Frankfurt a. Main/D
2006 Dale Sayers Award of the International XAFS Society (IXS), 13th International EXAFS Conference, Stanford/USA
2006 Jochen-Block-Preis of the DECHEMA, awarded by the German Catalysis Society, DECHEMA, Weimar/D
2004 Young Scientist Award at the 13. International Catalysis Conference, Paris/F
1994 – 1996 Kékulé scholarship, awarded by “Fonds der Chemischen Industrie”
1989 – 1993 Fellowship of the “Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes”
1988 Silver Medal at the 20th International Chemistry Olympiad (Helsinki, Finland), silver medal with the German team

Promotion of the International Chemistry Olympiad

1992 – 1997 President of the association “Friends of the Chemistry Olympiad” in Germany (re-election in 1994 and 1996) with development and set-up of a broad promotion program for high school students in German speaking countries
1996 Member of the German delegation at the Chemistry Olympiad in Moscow, Russia
Since 1997 Member of the board of the “Association for the Promotion of the Chemistry Olympiad”

Publication, Talks, Further Academic Activities

Publication/ Patents
Author und co-author of more than 2350 peer reviewed articles, 10 review articles, 5 patents, 20 general articles including science education, citation more thab 15,000 (ISI, 12/2021).
Talks More than 80 talks were presented at international conferences in Europe, USA, China and Japan, at universities and in industry
Membership in International Comittees Member of the KFS (presently chair), Member of the excecutive board of GECATS, member of the Photon Science Committee at DESY, member of the PAC of BESSY III, former member of the Board of Chemical Engineers, the Danish Society of Engineers (IDA), former member of the Project Review Panel at ESRF, Grenoble, former member of the Project Review Panel at SLS (Swiss Light Source, Villigen, X-ray absorption spectroscopy), Member of the Kuratorium of the Association for the Promotion of the Chemistry Olympiad.

Former  President of the Nordic Catalysis Society, chairman of the XAFS16 conference, member of the Project Review Panel at HASYLAB (German Synchrotron Source, Hamburg), former member in the SNX-Steering Council at the Swiss-Norwegian Beamlines at ESRF, Grenoble, the Scientific Board at the International Chemistry Olympiad 2004 in Germany, the working group at PETRA III at HASYLAB (DESY, Hamburg).