Polymeric Materials (Institute for Technical Chemistry and Polymer Chemistry)

Entropy Wheel based on elastomers

One research project of our group deals with the development and the optimization of the Rubber Heat engine. One part of this work is the optimization of the used elastomer and its chemical properties, the other side the mechanical construction and optimization.

For the goal of high torques one need to use more mass of polymer, resulting in higher forces on bearings, etc. Therefore a solid mechanical construction is required with fixed bearings and an adjustable extender wheel, the free wheel axle from the scheme above does not fullfill the requirements. The following picture shows the actual state of development without load (left) and with load (right).

         

The following movies (Flash) show the actual version of the entropie wheel, without load (above) and with load (below). Further optimization of the technique is in progress.

Entropy wheel with alternative heat supply

Beside the construction with a water bath we try a second strategy: Heat supply and cooling realized via water streams. Therefore, a completly new construction is necessary that is shown in the following pictures.

Entropierad-Wasserstrom 

In the picture on the left one can see the connections for the hot and the cold water stream, in the picture on the right the detailed construction of the inner and outer wheel is shown.
This new construction shows more power than the old construction, especially the cooling via water is more efficient. The supply of heat still has to improved, heating at one point via water stream is inferior compared to the more extended hoth water bath.

Polymere Materialien (Institut für Technische Chemie und Polymerchemie)

Entropierad mit Elastomeren

Ein Forschungsprojekt unserer Gruppe ist die Optimierung des Entropierades, sowohl von der Seite der Elastomere her als auch von der Konstruktion und Mechanik des Systems. Für die Erzielung höher Drehmomente benötigen Sie eine größere Menge an Polymer, was in deutlich höhere Kräfte auf Lager und Achsen resultiert. Daher benötigt man eine stabile mechanische Konstruktion, die entgegen der Skizze oben nicht über eine frei gelagerte Radachse, sondern über über einen festen, einstellbaren Exzenter verfügt. Die folgenden Filme zeigen den momentaren Entwicklungstand, einmal ohne Last (links), einmal mit Last (rechts).

Entropierad mit alternativer Wärmezufuhr

Neben dem Demonstrationsrad mit festen Wasserbad wird alternativ noch eine zweite Route verfolgt: Wärmezufuhr und Kühlung sind realisiert über Wasserströme, nicht über ein permanentes Heizbad und Luftkühlung.

Entropierad-Wasserstrom 

Hierzu ist ein vollständig neuartige Konstruktion notwendig, die in dem folgenden Bild dargestellt wird. In diesem Bild sind die beiden Schlauchanschlüsse für den warmen bzw. kalten Wasserstrom zu sehen.

Das zweite Bild zeigt im Detail die Konstruktion des Rades, in die die Speichen mit Elastomeren eingehängt werden können. Die gesamte Konstruktion befindet sich in einer großen Wanne mit Wasserablauf.
Die neue Konstruktion zeigt eine verbesserte Leistung, vor allem die Kühlung über Wasser ist effektiver. Die Wärmezufuhr muß noch weiter optimiert werden, der Wärmeeintrag über das Wasserbad erhitzt einen größeren Bereich des Rades.