Divisions and working groups at the ITCP

Here you find an overview of the divisions and working groups at the Institute for Chemical Technology and Polymer Chemistry (ITCP) combined with a short description of their research fields.

Chemical Technology

Prof. Dr. O. Deutschmann

Preparative macromolecular chemistry

Prof. Dr. P. Theato

Chemical Technology and Catalysis

Prof. Dr. J.-D. Grunwaldt

Polymeric Materials

Prof. Dr. M. Wilhelm

Applied Spectroscopy

Prof. Dr. C. Heske

Macromolecular Architectures

Prof. Dr. C. Barner-Kowollik

Applied Computional Catalysis

Prof. Dr. F. Studt

Preparative Macromolecular Chemistry

Prof. Dr. P. Théato
The research focuses on the development of controlled polymerization methods, the development of extremely efficient methods for polymer modification, the construction of defined polymer architectures and the synthesis of smart and switchable polymers. These polymer syntheses find application in surface functionalization, in the production of nano- and microscopic anisotropic polymeric objects, in the production of energy storage devices, intelligent hydrogels, and in polymers in a biological context.