Divisions and working groups at the ITCP

Here you find an overview of the divisions and working groups at the Institute for Chemical Technology and Polymer Chemistry (ITCP) combined with a short description of their research fields.

Chemical Technology

Prof. Dr. O. Deutschmann

Preparative macromolecular chemistry

Prof. Dr. P. Theato

Chemical Technology and Catalysis

Prof. Dr. J.-D. Grunwaldt

Polymeric Materials

Prof. Dr. M. Wilhelm

Applied Spectroscopy

Prof. Dr. C. Heske

Macromolecular Architectures

Prof. Dr. C. Barner-Kowollik

Applied Computional Catalysis

Prof. Dr. F. Studt

Applied Spectroscopy

Prof. Dr. C. Heske
The group’s research focuses on the development and application of cutting-edge spectroscopy techniques, primarily using soft and hard x-rays, to characterize the electronic and chemical properties of materials for energy conversion (examples include thin-film solar cells, materials for photoelectrochemical water splitting, fuel cells, hydrogen storage materials, and nuclear fuels). Using a combination of synchrotron radiation and lab-based methods, the group investigates surfaces and interfaces and collaborates closely with a large number of partners across the globe. Prof. Heske is also a director of the Institute for Photon Science and Synchrotron Radiation (IPS)  at KIT’s Campus North, as well as a Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV ).